The Euro files

Independent law firms from across Europe will gather at the Hotel Hermitage in Monte Carlo next month to discover which will become The Lawyer’s European Law Firm of the Year

The shortlist for The Lawyer’s fourth European Awards features a range of firms, from specialist boutiques to full-service giants, that have all demonstrated excellence in client service, strategic vision and commitment to their staff. One of them will follow in the footsteps of Garrigues, Salans and last year’s winner, Cuatrecasas Gonçalves Pereira, by being named the top independent firm on the Continent.

Shortlisted entrants have all displayed a clear strategy in the face of economic challenges. Although not all have managed to increase revenues in the past year, every shortlisted firm persuaded our judging panel it has the ability to do so in the future.

As well as regional awards the ceremony on 25 October will also recognise the European managing partner of the year, European specialist firm of the year, and the European office of an international firm that has shone during the year.

At the same time as the European Awards The Lawyer is hosting a conference aimed at addressing the strategic challenges facing independent firms of all sizes, featuring input from both private practice law firm managers and top in-house counsel from around Europe.

Law firm of the year: Austria

Binder Grösswang

Dorda Brugger Jordis

Fellner Wratzfeld & Partner

Graf & Pitkowitz


Wolf Theiss

Law firm of the year: Benelux

Alber & Geiger

Arendt & Medernach

Boekel De Nerée

De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek

Houthoff Buruma

Liedekerke Wolters Waelbroeck Kirkpatrick


Law firm of the year: Central Europe


Konečná & Zacha

PRK Partners



Wolf Theiss

Law firm of the year: Eastern Europe and The Balkans

Boyanov & Co

Kalo & Associates





Wolf Theiss

Law firm of the year: France

August & Debouzy

Bredin Prat



Law firm of the year: Germany

Buse Heberer Fromm

Glade Michel Wirtz

Gleiss Lutz

Hengeler Mueller

Heuking Kühn Lüer Wojtek


Schalast & Partner

Law firm of the year: Iberia

Cuatrecasas Gonçalves Pereira


Gomez-Acebo & Pombo


Uría Menéndez

Vieira de Almeida & Associados

Law firm of the year: Italy

AL – Assistenza Legale

Gianni Origoni Grippo Cappelli & Partners

Lablaw – Studio Legale


Portolano Cavallo Studio Legale

Law firm of the year: Poland

Domański Zakrzewski Palinka

Gide Loyrette Nouel


Soltysinski Kawecki & Szlezak

Law firm of the year: Republic of Ireland

A&L Goodbody

Arthur Cox

Matheson Ormsby Prentice

McCann FitzGerald

William Fry

Law firm of the year: Romania


Musat & Asociatii

Nestor Nestor Diculescu Kingston Petersen

Popovici Nitu & Asociatii


Tuca Zbarcea & Asociatii

Law firm of the year: Russia and the CIS


Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners

Muranov Chernyakov & Partners

Pepeliaev Group


Sayenko Kharenko

Law firm of the year: Switzerland

Bär & Karrer

Niederer Kraft & Frey


Schellenberg Wittmer

Walder Wyss

Law firm of the year: The Baltics


Raidla Lejins & Norcous



Law firm of the year: The Nordics


Mannheimer Swartling

MAQS Law Firm





Law firm of the year: Turkey

Bener Law Office

Bezen & Partners

Cukur & Yilmaz

Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Avukatlık Ortaklığı


International law firm of the year

Baker & McKenzie (Russia and the CIS)

Dechert (Russia and the CIS)

Goltsblat BLP (Russia)

Heisse Kursawe Eversheds (Germany)

Watson Farley & Williams (Germany)

Weil Gotshal & Manges (Central and Eastern Europe)

European managing partner of the year

Oleksiy Didkovskiy, Asters

Emmanuelle Barbara, August & Debouzy

Christian H Pothe, Buse Heberer Fromm

Pauliina Tenhunen, Castrén & Snellman

Luca Failla and Francesco Rotondi, Lablaw – Studio Legale

Florentin Tuca, Tuca Zbarcea & Asociatii

European specialist firm of the year

AL – Assistenza Legale

Glade Michel Wirtz

Lablaw – Studio Legale

Portolano Cavallo Studio Legale

Trevisan & Cuonzo


The judging panel

Torsten Bartsch, head of commercial legal group, Europe, Africa and the Middle East, Caterpillar

Victoria Brackett, managing partner, Thomas Eggar

Grainne Brankin, international legal director, CBS Outdoor

Monica Burch, senior partner, Addleshaw Goddard

Chris Carroll, senior partner, Travers Smith

David Casement, general counsel and company secretary, Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance

Gordon Finlayson, general counsel, HBO Europe

Pavel Klimov, general counsel – UK EMEA, Unisys

Soren Lundsberg-Nielsen, group general counsel, G4S

Igor Makarov, chief legal officer, Rusal

Charles Martin, senior partner, Macfarlanes

Elaine Mays, group chief compliance officer, Wood Group

Michael Payton, senior partner, Clyde & Co

George Turner, general counsel and company secretary, InterContinental Hotels Group

Sharon White, chief executive, Stephenson Harwood