Welsh Government unveils slimmed-down panel

Five law firms have been re-appointed to the Welsh Government’s legal panel but three firms have lost their places.

Browne Jacobson, Eversheds, Geldards, Hugh James and Morgan Cole have all been appointed to the main advisory panel and have also won appointments on a number of sub-panels.

The five firms were all previously appointed to the Government’s inaugural panel in 2008. Bristol-based Ashfords and Bevan Brittan as well as London firm Beachcroft (now DAC Beachcroft) were all appointed in 2008 but have failed to make the cut this time (11 February 2008).

Geldards, Hugh James and Morgan Cole have all been appointed to the property, employment and commercial sub-panels. All three firms were also appointed to the litigation sub-panel alongside Eversheds. Browne Jacobson was the other firm to be appointed to the environmental sub-panel alongside Geldards and Morgan Cole.

As in the past, panel firms will also be required to provide services to several Welsh Government sponsored bodies, which includes the Countryside Council for Wales, Environment Agency Wales, Forestry Commission Wales, Sport Wales, the Care Council for Wales and the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales.

The new appointments are effective from February 2012 and panel firms are appointed for a four-year term.