United London councils unveil first legal panel

Ashfords, Browne Jacobson, Sharpe Pritchard, TLT and Weightmans have been selected for the main panel, and are listed as “key providers”.

A larger second panel of supporting firms  includes Bevan Brittan, Dickinson Dees, Eversheds, Kennedys and Pinsent Masons.

The LBLA was set up by a group of London borough councils to reduce legal costs by sharing expertise and using a single panel.

Its current members include Camden, Hammersmith and Fulham, Harrow, Hillingdon, Highbury and Islington, and Kensington and Chelsea.

The initiative is expected to save its members a combined total of around £1.5m a year. 

Harrow head of legal Hugh Peart said: “I think it’ll prove an innovation that other town halls across the country will want to copy.”

The panel places will last for three years, and member councils will be free to use other external providers.

The LBLA panel in full:

Key providers

Ashfords, Browne Jacobson, Sharpe Pritchard, TLT, Weightmans

Support panel

Bevan Brittan – personal injury.

Creighton & Partners –  child protection and community care

Devonshires – housing and housing litigation.

Dickinson Dees – pensions, PPP/PFI

Eversheds – election law

EMW Picton Howell – property, planning and regeneration.

Geldards – insurance

Kennedys – child protection and personal injury

Michelmores – contracts, procurement, outsourcing, employment and information law

Moon Beever – debt recovery and insolvency

Pinsent Masons – commercial & construction litigation, pensions, PPP/PFI, trusts & charity