The Lawyer Inquiry: Karim Kassam

Karim Kassam was born in Northumberland on 7 April 1961. He now lives in London and is a partner at Kenneth Elliot & Rowe.

What was your first job?

Answering telephones in the refuse department of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea (during the bin men's strike).

What was your first ever salary as a lawyer?

£3,800 per annum.

What would you have done if you hadn't become a lawyer?

Unemployed footballer followed by failed poet.

Which law could you live without?

Licensing laws.

What was your most embarrassing professional moment?

Being 'derobed' by the local county court judge when posing as a barrister (the real one, bless him, hadn't turned up).

What car do you drive?

VW Golf Cabriolet.

Which famous person would you like to go out with?

Lois Lane.

Where would you go to eat?

El Gran Cafe, Barcelona.

What's the best thing on TV?

The Big Match re-runs.

Which movie do you wish you'd appeared in?


What's your most often-worn piece of clothing?

Pair of Timberlands.

What book(s) are you reading at the moment?

Test of Time, by David Rohl.

What is your all-time favourite record?

Cars and Girls, by Prefab Sprout.

What piece of advice would you give to anyone entering the profession now?

Be brave in business but don't take anything for granted.

What do you like about yourself?


What do you hate about yourself?

Selfishness towards the ones I love.

Where would you most like to be right now?

Watching the sunset over the Nile.