The Lawyer Inquiry: Cherry Wright

Cherry Wright was born at Tettenhall near Wolverhampton in 1944 and currently lives in South Wales. She is a managing partner at Hugh James solicitors, at the Cardiff and Bristol branches.

What was your first job?

Christmas post in the fog (very late deliveries).

What was your first ever salary as a lawyer?

£5 a week as an articled clerk.

What would you have done if you hadn't become a lawyer?

Won Wimbledon.

Which law could you live without?

Anything with Miscellaneous Provisions in the title.

What was your most embarrassing professional moment?

Having a warrant issued for the arrest of my criminal client for not surrendering to his bail when he was sitting beside me in court waiting for his case to come up (I was very newly qualified).

What car do you drive?

In my head, a Mercedes SL320. In reality, a Fiat.

Which famous person would you like to go out with?

Richard Gere if only he was taller.

Where would you go to eat?

Somewhere very sophisticated (food irrelevant).

What's the best thing on TV?

Today at Wimbledon.

Which movie do you wish you'd appeared in?

Pretty Woman.

What's your most often-worn piece of clothing?

A stripy T-shirt.

What book(s) are you reading at the moment?

Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson; Executive Orders by Tom Clancy.

What is your all-time favourite record?

The Placido Domingo bits from The Three Tenors Concert.

What piece of advice would you give to anyone entering the profession now?

Learn to type.

What do you like about yourself?

I laugh at myself a lot.

What do you hate about yourself?

My lack of willpower in getting to the gym.

Where would you most like to be right now?

Fell walking somewhere above Ullswater.