The Lawyer European Awards shortlist 2014

Some have shown great resolve in tough times, others outstanding innovation – the Continent’s star independent firms will be named and acclaimed at the industry’s top awards event in February 

In a time of increasing internationalisation in the legal market, the performance of those firms that choose to remain independent can sometimes go unnoticed.

The Lawyer European Awards, to be held in London next February, recognise the Continent’s independent stars. These are the firms that have a vision and a strategy designed to set them up for the future, whatever their size.


Some have thrived in tough markets, while others have put themselves at the vanguard of the development of their local jurisdictions or are developing pan-regional strategies.

Firms that have made the shortlist in each category have shown not only an ability to act on innovative and significant transactions, but also a commitment to issues such as diversity and training.

This year’s European Awards introduces new categories. Ukraine and other CIS countries have been separated from the old ‘Russia and CIS’ category to recognise the importance of jurisdictions outside Russia.

Meanwhile, four new transactional categories – banking and
finance, competition, corporate and projects team of the year – have been introduced. These four categories, along with International Law Firm of the Year are the only ones open to firms headquartered outside Europe.

The winners, including the European Law Firm of the Year, will be revealed at a ceremony at London’s Marriott Grosvenor Square Hotel in February next year.

For more details go to


Law Firm of the Year: Austria

Binder Grösswang

CHSH Cerha Hempel Spiegelfeld Hlawati

Dorda Brugger Jordis

Graf & Pitkowitz


Wolf Theiss

Law Firm of the Year: Benelux

Boekel De Nerée

De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek

Houthoff Buruma


Law Firm of the Year: 
Central Europe

Gide Loyrette Nouel


Lakatos, Köves and Partners

PRK Partners

Wolf Theiss

Law Firm of the Year: Eastern 
Europe & the Balkans

Boga & Associates

Boyanov & Co

Kalo & Associates

Karanovic & Nikolic


Law Firm of the Year: France

August & Debouzy

Darrois Villey Maillot Brochier

De Pardieu Brocas Maffei


Jeantet Associés

Law Firm of the Year: Germany

Flick Gocke Schaumburg

Gleiss Lutz

Graf von Westphalen

Hengeler Mueller


Oppenhoff & Partner

Law Firm of the Year: Iberia

Cuatrecasas Gonçalves Pereira


Gómez-Acebo & Pombo


Uría Menéndez


Law Firm of the Year: Italy

Chiomenti Studio Legale

Gianni, Origoni, Grippo, Cappelli & Partners

Lablaw Studio Legale


NCTM Studio Legale Associato

Portolano Cavallo Studio Legale

Law Firm of the Year: Poland

Domański Zakrzewski Palinka


Soltysinski Kawecki & Szlezak

Wardynski & Partners

Wiercinski Kwiecinski Baehr

Law Firm of the Year: 
Republic of Ireland

A&L Goodbody

Arthur Cox

Mason Hayes & Curran


McCann FitzGerald

William Fry

Law Firm of the Year: Romania


Popovici Nitu & Asociatii


Tuca Zbârcea & Asociatii

Wolf Theiss

Law Firm of the Year: Russia

Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners

Khrenov and Partners

Muranov, Chernyakov & Partners

Pepeliaev Group

Law Firm of the Year: Switzerland

Bär & Karrer


Niederer Kraft & Frey

Schellenberg Wittmer

Walder Wyss

Law Firm of the Year: the Baltics



Raidla Lejins & Norcous


Tark Grunte Sutkiene


Law Firm of the Year: the Nordics

Castrén & Snellman Attorneys

Hannes Snellman


MAQS Law Firm



Law Firm of the Year: Turkey

Akol Avukatlık Bürosu

Bener Law Office

Bezen & Partners

Çukur & Yilmaz


Mehmet Gun & Partners

Law Firm of the Year: Ukraine and the CIS



Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners

Ilyashev & Partners

Sayenko Kharenko

International Law Firm of the Year


Goltsblat BLP

Watson Farley & Williams

European Banking & Finance Team of the Year



Gómez-Acebo & Pombo

European Competition Team of the Year


Slaughter and May

Tuca Zbârcea & Asociatii

European Corporate Team of the Year

A&L Goodbody

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld


Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners

Herbert Smith Freehills

Hogan Lovells


European Projects Team of the Year


Herbert Smith Freehills

White & Case

European Specialist Firm of the Year

Glade Michel Wirtz

Grau & Angulo



Portolano Cavallo Studio Legale

Trevisan & Cuonzo Avvocati


European Managing Partner of the Year

Oleksiy Didkovskiy, Asters

Dimitry Afanasiev, Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners

Manuel Martin, Gómez-Acebo & Pombo

Per Magnusson, Magnusson

Emer Gilvarry, Mason Hayes & Curran

Vincent Jeanneret, Schellenberg Wittmer

European Law Firm of the Year 

To be announced on the night



Torsten Bartsch, head of commercial legal group, Emea, Caterpillar

Simon Beswick, managing partner, Osborne Clarke

Grainne Brankin, international legal director, CBS Outdoor

Chris Carroll, senior international counsel, Travers Smith

Gordon Finlayson, general counsel, HBO Europe

Tim Frazer, partner, Arnold & Porter

Jennie Gubbins, senior partner, Trowers & Hamlins

Pavel Klimov, general counsel, Unisys

Igor Makarov, deputy CEO and general counsel, Basic Element Company

Charles Martin, senior partner, Macfarlanes

Elaine Mays, chief compliance officer, Wood Group

Jeffrey McGhie, group general counsel, VimpelCom

Peter Rees QC, legal director, Royal Dutch Shell

Brian Sheridan, general counsel, Sorin

George Turner, EVP, general counsel and company secretary, InterContinental Hotels Group

Graham White, partner, Kirkland & Ellis International

Sharon White, CEO, Stephenson Harwood