Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 13.55.54

View current and past The Lawyer Awards winners, plus all information regarding the event at our dedicated website.

Previous The Lawyer Awards winners by year can be seen here: 2018; 2017; 2016, 2015, 2014.

What are winners made of? The Lawyer Awards 2016 cohort proves private practice and in-house teams can achieve the impossible, implement innovation and fulfil the role of perfect advisers regardless of size.

For the first time, The Lawyer has dedicated an entire issue to this year’s winners, conducting interviews and gathering data about the trail-
blazing teams and stand-out deals that granted them their top accolades.

Inside these pages are strategy profiles with top organisational award-winners including Law Firm of the Year Clyde & Co and International Firm of the Year Gibson Dunn & Crutcher. There are also sections for in-house and transactional teams, the bar and special awards to Barrister of the Year Ben Emmerson QC of Matrix Chambers and In-house Lawyer of the year, Pernod Ricard’s Ingrid Cope.

Many of the award-winners have worked on monumental cross-border deals or long-term restructurings that have only just borne fruit.

There is also a profile of Pro-bono Initiative of the Year winner Avon & Bristol Law Centre, with a student-powered project that has had a direct impact on more than 200 local clients who were vulnerable due to cuts to legal aid.

And don’t miss the ‘David and Goliath’-style court battles warred by Powell Gilbert, which won the firm IP team of the year, or the profile of the Spire Healthcare in-house team, which implemented change in its business in an atmosphere of high-powered, complex regulation – all while doing their day-to-day jobs. It’s all here.

The judges

Alistair Maugham, partner, Morrison Foerster

Lisa Mayhew, managing partner, BLP

Claire Petts, partner, Clyde &Co

Oliver Bretz, director, Euclid Law

Andrew Wilksinson, partner, Weil Gotshal Manges

Sarah Binder, director – legal, governance and compliance, PlusNet

Nicola Maguire, life sciences partner, Cooley

Ian Terry, partner, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Jeff Eneberi, general counsel & commercial projects director, Just Eat

Graeme Baldwin, SVP, deputy general counsel, finance, Pearson

Rachel Canham, chief counsel M&A, BT

Raj Singh-Delal, HR & commercial services director, Center Parcs UK

Lesley Wan, corporate real estate counsel, Lloyds Bank

Rhodri Lewis, head of legal affairs,Welsh Rugby Union Group

Thomas Brown, director and head of legal UK and Ireland, PayPal

Gareth Brewerton, group general counsel, South Staffordshire Plc.

Maaike de Bie, acting general counsel, Royal Mail

Nicola Shand, general counsel, Scotia Gas Networks

Solomon Osagie, chief legal counsel, TSYS

Ed Smith, general counsel, Telefonica UK

Matthew Wilson, legal director, Uber

James Ormrod, general counsel and company secretary, Mitie

Anneli Howard, junior counsel, Monckton Chambers

Annabel Dumbell, managing director of litigation North EMEA, Accenture

Guy Stobart, consultant, former CEO of Kennedys and managing partner of Burges Salmon

Peter Crisp, dean and CEO, BPP Law School

Andrew Lilley, consultant, Travers Smith

Alexander Ritvay, partner, Noerr

Julian Yarr, managing partner, A&L Goodbody

Creighton Condon, senior partner, Shearman & Sterling

Peter Kalis, chairman and global managing partner, K&L Gates

Jami McKeon, chair and managing partner, Morgan Lewis

Jerry Clements, chair, Locke Lord

Xue Haibin, partner, Zhong Lun

Stephan Swinckels, executive director, L&E Global

Luis de Carlos, managing partner, Uría Menéndez

John Abramson, general counsel Europe, Travelers

James Wickes, partner, RPC

Sheena Singla, general counsel, Essar Energy

Guy Blackwood QC, Quadrant Chambers

David Taylor, general counsel, PPF

Sonal Sejpal, director, Anjarwalla & Khanna

To read the why the winners took their trophies, click the links below.

Law Firm of the Year

International Firm of the Year

Barrister of the Year

Chambers of the Year

Regional Firm of the Year

Boutique Firm of the Year

Pro-bono Initiative of the Year

Offshore Firm of the Year and runners-up

In-house Teams of the Year

Transactional Teams of the Year