QC appointment numbers hit five-year high with 107 new silks

A total of 107 new QCs have been appointed in this year’s silk appointments round, including 25 women.

The number of appointments is at a five-year high, after four years of 100 or fewer new silks. However the proportion of women appointed has dropped compared to last year, when the same number of new female QCs were named.

Overall, 45 per cent of the 238 applicants were successful, an increase on 2014/15 when 42 per cent were given QC status.

The new QCs include three solicitor-advocates: Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan’s arbitration head Stephen Jagusch, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer London arbitration head Nigel Rawding, and Gibson Dunn & Crutcher arbitration co-chair Penny Madden.

Jagusch joined Quinn Emanuel in 2012 from Allen & Overy to head up the US litigation boutique’s arbitration practice.

The trio were among nine solicitor-advocates to apply for silk this year.

While 52 per cent of female applicants were successful, the selection panel chair Helen Pitcher said the panel remained “concerned that the number of female applicants remains stubbornly low”.

Black and minority ethnic (BAME) applicants made up 14 per cent of applications, an increase from previous years. Their success rate was lower than for all applicants with 28 per cent of BAME applicants appointed.

The youngest new silk is 34 and the oldest 57 and call dates range from 1980 to 2009.

The new silk called in 2009 is Brick Court Chambers’ Thomas Plewman SC, who was appointed senior counsel in South Africa in 2008. Scottish silk Andrew Smith of Crown Office Chambers, called to the English bar in 1998, was also named silk in England and Wales in this year’s round.

Other notable appointments include Serle Court’s Daniel Lightman, who was named in The Lawyer’s Hot 100 in 2013, and Serjeant’s Inn’s Bridget Dolan, winner of Barrister of the Year at The Lawyer Awards 2015.

1 Crown Office Row has scooped the most new silks with six appointments.

QC appointments statistics

Year Number of applicants Number of successful applicants Proportion of applicants who were successful (%)
2015/16 238 107 45.1
2014/15 223 93 41.7
2013/14 225 100 44.4
2012/13 183 84 45.9
2011/12 214 88 41.1
2010/11 251 120 47.8
2009/10 275 129 46.9
2008/09 247 104 42.1
2007/08 333 98 29.4
2006/07 443 175 39.5

The new silks:

Name Chambers Practice area Year of call
James Abrahams 8 New Square IP 1997
Jayne Adams Ropewalk Chambers Personal injury 1982
Jonathan Ashley-Norman 3 Raymond Buildings White collar crime 1989
Duncan Atkinson 6KBW College Hill Crime 1995
Daniel Bayfield South Square Restructuring 1998
Michael Bedford Cornerstone Planning 1985
Terence Bergin 4 Pump Court IT 1985
Alexander Booth Francis Taylor Building Planning 2000
Clodagh Bradley 1 Crown Office Row Healthcare 1996
Kerry Bretherton Tanfield Public/property 1992
Lisa Busch Landmark Planning 2000
Paul Cairnes No 5 Planning 1980
Douglas Campbell Three New Square IP 1993
Aidan Casey 3 Hare Court Fraud 1992
Ian Clarke Selborne Commercial 1990
Giles Cockings Furnival Crime 1996
Jonathan Cohen Littleton Employment and commercial 1999
Ben Collins Old Square Employment 1996
Jonathan Davey Wilberforce Chancery 2003
Emma Deacon 5 Paper Buildings Crime 1993
Bridget Dolan Serjeant’s Inn Healthcare and police 1997
Richard Edwards 3VB Commercial 1993
Catrin Evans One Brick Court Media 1994
Philip Evans QEB Hollis Whiteman Crime 1995
James Ewins Queen Elizabeth Building Family 1996
Gerry Facenna Monckton Public and commercial 2001
Shaheed Fatima Blackstone Public 2001
Adam Feest 3PB Crime 1994
Simon Fox No 5 Healthcare 1994
Kim Franklin Crown Office Projects 1984
Oliver Glasgow 2 Hare Court Crime 1995
Katie Gollop Serjeant’s Inn Clinical negligence 1993
Siobhan Grey Doughty Street Crime 1994
Richard Ground Cornerstone Planning 1994
Nicholas Grundy Five Paper Property 1993
Mark Harper Kings Partnership law 1993
John Harrison St Pauls Health and safety 1994
David Head 3VB Commercial 1997
Ian Henderson Farrington Crime 1990
Alexander Hickey 4 Pump Court Construction 1995
Jonathan Hilliard Wilberforce Trusts and commercial 2003
Thomas Hinchliffe Three New Square IP 1997
Michael Horne Serjeant’s Inn Clinical negligence 1992
Riaz Hussain Atkin Construction 2001
Jeremy Hyam 1 Crown Office Row Health and public 1995
Michael Ivers Garden Court Crime 1991
Stephen Jagusch Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan Arbitration NA
Alan Johns Maitland Property 1994
Nicholas Johnson Exchange Fraud 1994
Brian Kennelly Blackstone Public and commercial 1999
Julian Kenny 20 Essex Street Commercial 1997
Simon Kilvington Byrom Street Personal injury 1995
Richard Kimblin No 5 Planning 1998
Cyrus Larizadeh 4 Paper Buildings Public 1992
William Latimer-Sayer Cloisters Personal injury 1995
Sarah Lee Brick Court Public EU 1990
Maya Lester Brick Court Public EU 2000
Daniel Lightman Serle Court Commercial and Chancery 1995
Penny Madden Gibson Dunn & Crutcher Arbitration NA
Peter Makepeace Dere Street Barristers Crime 1998
Simon Malynicz Three New Square IP 1997
Hannah Markham 36 Bedford Row Children 1998
James Maxwell-Scott Crown Office Criminal regulatory 1995
Cathryn McGahey Temple Garden Public 1990
John McKendrick Outer Temple Public and commercial 1999
Kama Melly Park Square Crime 1997
Paul Mitchell Hailsham Professional negligence 1999
David Mohyuddin Exchange Insolvency 1999
Thomas Moody-Stuart 8 New Square IP 1995
Salim Moollan Essex Court Commercial 1998
Andrew Moran Serle Court Commercial 1989
Stephen Moses Furnival Crime 1997
David Mumford Maitland Commercial and Chancery 2000
Andrew Norton 1 Garden Court Family 1992
Derek O’Sullivan 39 Essex Personal injury 1990
Paul Ozin 23 Essex Street Crime 1987
Tim Penny Wilberforce Commercial 1988
Steven Perian 3 Temple Gardens Crime 1987
Rosalind Phelps Fountain Court Commercial 1998
Thomas Plewman Brick Court Commercial 2009
Charles Prest Park Square Children 2005
Anya Proops 11 KBW Media and human rights 1998
James Ramsden 39 Essex Commercial 1987
Nigel Rawding Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer Arbitration NA
Toby Riley-Smith Henderson Commercial 1995
Caroline Shea Falcon Chambers Real estate and agriculture 1994
Clare Sibson Cloth Fair Crime 1997
Peter Skelton 1 Crown Office Row Public 1997
Andrew Smith Crown Office Personal injury 1998
Dan Squires Matrix Public and human rights 1998
Harry Steinberg 12 King’s Bench Personal injury 1997
Sudhanshu Swaroop 20 Essex Street Commercial 1997
Louise Sweet Carmelite Crime 1994
Laurent Sykes Gray’s Inn Tax Chambers Tax 2007
Kennedy Talbot 33 Chancery Lane Fraud 1984
Daniel Tatton-Brown Littleton Employment 1994
Owain Thomas 1 Crown Office Row Public and professional negligence 1995
Justine Thornton 39 Essex Environment and planning 1994
Ben Valentin Fountain Court Commercial 1995
Guy Vassall-Adams Matrix Media 2000
Aidan Vine Harcourt Family 1995
Tom Weekes Landmark Property 1995
Adam Weitzman 7BR Personal injury 1993
Marina Wheeler 1 Crown Office Row Public 1987
Gemma White Blackstone Public 1994
Richard Wilson 3 Stone Buildings Chancery 1996
Henry Witcomb 1 Crown Office Row Clinical negligence 1989