NAB forms nationwide law panel

The National Australia Bank (NAB) has created a formal nationwide panel for the first time.

Long-term adviser Mallesons Stephen Jaques has been retained as its principal firm. There has been a relationship between the two since Mallesons advised NAB on its incorporation in 1858. But following a lengthy review, NAB has appointed nine firms to a nationwide panel. Four other firms have also been appointed to be used occasionally for specialist matters.

The panel members are: Freehills and Dibbs Crowther & Osborne (NSW); Arthur Robinson & Hedderwicks and Russell Kennedy (Victoria); Minter Ellison and Finlaysons (South Australia); Flower & Hart and Thynne & Macartney (Queensland); and Jackson McDonald (Western Australia). The specialist firms are Clayton Utz, Allen Allen & Hemsley, Arnold Bloch Leibler and Henry Davis York.