MoJ names three for the bench

The Ministry of Justice has bolstered the Queen’s Bench Division with two new judges at the same time as confirming the appointment of 11 South Square head of chambers Christopher Floyd QC to the bench.

One Crown Office Row silk David Foskett QC will move to the bench, along with Robert Akenhead QC of Atkin Chambers.

Foskett took silk in 1991 and has a practice focusing on clinical negligence and personal injury disputes.

Akenhead was called to the bar in 1972, becoming a QC 17 years later. He has experience dealing with construction disputes and litigation in the mining, power and oil and gas industries.

As first revealed by The Lawyer (17 September), Floyd will replace IP judge Mr Justice Pumfrey, who is set to move to the Court of Appeal before the end of the year.

Floyd is the first new IP judge since the appointment of David Kitchin from 8 New Square in 2005.