LSC chief exec named in New Year’s Honours list

The chief executive and former commissioner of the Legal Services Commission (LSC) are among the representatives of the legal profession to be named in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list.

Carolyn Downs
Carolyn Downs

Carolyn Downs, who took on the chief executive role at the commission in March, has been named a Companion of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (CB) for services to central and local government.

Lionel Joyce, who was an LSC commissioner between June 2005 and April this year, has been awarded the CBE for services to the administration of justice.

Among those receiving the OBE are criminal silk Graham Bell QC, of Edinburgh-based Ampersand Stable, for services to the legal profession in Scotland.

Legal website RollonFriday founder Matthew Rhodes and Comghall McNally have received the OBE for services to pro bono legal advice and services to legal education in Northern Ireland respectively.

Meanwhile, Colin Gibbs, a senior lawyer in the Crown Prosecution Service, has also been awarded the OBE.