Judiciary shake up sees seven in new roles

The judiciary is set for an overhaul, with the control of seven posts changing hands.

Mr Justice David Steel is to stand down as the head of the commercial list on 1 January 2008, handing over the reins to Mr Justice Andrew Smith, who has been appointed for one year.

At the Technology and Construction Court, Mr Justice Ramsey will succeed Mr Justice Jackson as head on 1 September 2007. Ramsey has been appointed for three years.

On the circuits, presiding judges Mr Justices McCombe, Gibbs and Roderick Evans stand down at the end of the year.

Mr Justice Irwin takes over the Northern Circuit and family division liaison judge Mrs Justice Macur moves to preside over the Midlands, while Mr Justice Lloyd Jones will oversee the Wales Circuit. All three have been appointed for three years.

With Mrs Justice Macur moving to the circuits and Mr Justice Bodey standing down on 31 December 2007, Mrs Justice Baron and Mr Justice Moylan take over their positions in the Family Division.

Mr Justice Hedley’s appointment as Family Division Liaison Judge for London has been extended for a further four years until 31 July 2011.

Mr Justice Eady’s appointment as judge in charge of the jury and non-jury lists has also been extended to 1 October 2010.

The news comes as Robin Tolson QC of Outer Temple Chambers has been appointed as leader of the Western Circuit from 1 October 2007. He will serve for three years. In a rare occurrence, Tolson takes over from his head of chambers Philip Mott QC.