SRA names members of revamped board

The new members of the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA) board have been announced, two months after revealed that there was ill feeling between the SRA and the Law Society over the appointments process.

Martin Coleman

Martin Coleman

Thirteen members, including seven solicitors and six lay members, have won places effective as of January 2010. Two further members – a solicitor from a high street firm and a lay person with a business background – are expected to be appointed in the autumn.

This follows the appointment of Herbert Smith consultant Charles Plant as SRA chair, replacing Peter Williamson (22 June 2009).

As reported in June, the Law Society and the SRA were at loggerheads over the appointments process, with the Law Society managing the appointment of the chair and board members while the regulatory body had no input (15 June 2009).

All appointments were made by a committee led by former parliamentary commissioner for standards Elizabeth Filkin. The other members were former Law Society president Paul Marsh, Law Society management board chair Philip Hamer, master of the rolls-nominated lay member Bob Musgrove and independent external assessor Geoff Thompson.

The new members are:


Yvonne Brown of Yvonne Brown & Co. Solicitors. Former chair and director of the Black Solicitors Network.

Martin Coleman, global head of competition at Norton Rose and member of the Legal Services Consultative Panel.

Mark Humphries, recently retired head of advocacy at Linklaters.

Tom Keevil, general counsel and company secretary at United Utilities.

Cindy Leslie, dispute resolution partner at Denton Wilde Sapte.

Malcolm  Nicholson, recently retired Slaughter & May competition head. Also a member of the Competition Commission.

Lucy Winskell, partner at Sintons.

Lay  members

Dr Susan Bews, former  medical director of a pharmaceutical company and member of the Bar Standards Complaints Committee.

Tony Hobman, chief executive of the Pensions Regulator.

Ian Menzies-Conacher, chartered accountant and former group taxation director at Barclays.

Sara Nathan, chair of the Home Office animal procedures committee and member of the Judicial Appointments Commission and the Youth Crime Commission.

Sir Ron Watson, board member of Standards for England and chair of Southport and Ormskirk Hospital NHS Trust.

Stephen  Whittle, chair of the Broadcast Training and Skills Regulator.