Garrigues posts 13 per cent revenue hike

The firm reported particularly strong performance in  its corporate and commercial, labour, litigation and tax practices.

At 98 per cent, the overwhelming majority of this year’s revenues came from legal and tax advice while the remaining two per cent came from the firm’s environmental consulting and educational services.

These results follow on from 15 per cent growth during the previous financial year (8 July 2009). Unlike most Spanish firms, which operate a calendar financial year, Garrigues’ financial year runs from September to August.

At the same time the firm has announced the promotion of 32 lawyers to the position of non-equity partner. Around 60 per cent of the firm’s 251 partners are non-equity.

Two new managing partners, Fernando Vives and Ricardo Gómez-Barreda, took over for four-year terms last month (20 July 2009). They were unavailable for comment.

The 32 new partners are:

Barcelona: Miriam Barrera Ubieto (tax); Ferrán Escayola (corporate/commercial); Alex Pujol Pamies (corporate/commercial).

Bilbao: Ignacio Eróstegui Rodríguez (corporate/commercial); David Pérez Basconcillos (tax)

Cáceres: Francisco Javier Galindo García (tax)

Granada: Rafael Paniza Medoza (corporate/commercial)

León: Pablo de Juan Fidalgo (tax)

Lisbon: Susana Pimenta de Sousa (corporate/commercial); João Duarte de Sousa (litigation)

Madrid: José Luis Palao Iturzaeta (corporate/commercial); Daniel Parejo Ballesteros (corporate/commercial); Marcos Botella Serrano (corporate/commercial); Adrian Thery Martí (restructuring and insolvency); Gabriel Castro Salillas (litigation); Jorge Moreira Peláez (tax); Francisco Martínez Iglesias (corporate/commercial); José Ignacio Corchuelo Martínez-Azua (labour and employment)

Málaga: Felipe González Martín (tax)

Murcia: Octavio Llamas Fuentes (corporate/commercial)

Oviedo: Alejandro Fernández García (tax)

Palma de Mallorca: María Montserrat Mas Llull (tax)

Seville: Luis Molero Pellón (litigation)

Valencia: Vicente Climent Escriche (tax); Fernando Crespo Champion (labour and employment); Cristóbal Martí Brugada (tax); Josefa Teresa Roselló (litigation)

Valladolid: Antonio Santocildes Castañón (tax)

Vigo: Juan Pablo Lerena Roca (litigation); Manuel Torres Salazar (maritime law); Francisco Veiga Calvo (tax)

Zaragoza: Carlos Peralta Jiménez (administrative law)