Eversheds opts out of NHS Shared Business pitch as new panel revealed

Eversheds decided against pitching for a role on the expanded NHS Shared Business Services (NHS SBS) panel at the latest review despite working on six of its nine ‘lots’ since 2009.

Successful firms were told of the outcome of the review yesterday. The NHS expanded the panel for the business and procurement service from 16 to 22, with firms able to bid for work in specific regions for the first time.

Eversheds was one of three firms who fell off the roster after opting out of the pitch process. Davitt Jones Bould also chose not to tender, and Ashfords did not appear.

But nine new firms were appointed, including Pinsent Masons which won work across the UK for six practice areas, including employment law and corporate finance.

Simmons & Simmons also took four ‘lots’, Trowers and Hamlins took two and Mills & Reeve was appointed to work on all the body’s practice areas.

The roster was previously divided into ten ‘lots’ with only Hempsons working across all ten. For the latest review firms were asked to bid for work in ten ‘lots’ and ten regions, based on the old strategic health authority borders.

Seven firms will now work across the full compliment of practice areas and regions, including Capsticks, DAC Beachcroft and new entrant Freeth Cartwright.

Morgan Cole also significantly bumped up its role on the roster – taking up nine out of ten lots in all regions of the UK after advising on only three in 2009.

The lots are divided between healthcare law, NHS governance and law, primary care services among others.

The new panel will run from December 2013 to November 2014 following the end of the standstill process yesterday.

The NHS SBS provides procurement advice nationally. According to Pulse Magazine the body’s finance and accounting service boosted its profits by 88 per cent between 2011 and 2012 following the move to force Clinical Commissioning Groups use the body to process payments.

New entrants


Trowers & Hamlins

Walker Morris

Pinsent Masons

Simmons & Simmons

Freeth Cartwright

Maclay Murray & Spens

Mills & Reeve


Full panel winners

Bevan Brittan


DAC Beachcroft


Freeth Cartwright


Hill Dickinson