Three women feature as CoA makes up 10 justices

The Goverment has appointed Mrs Justices Gloster, Macur and Sharp to the Court of Appeal (CoA) along with seven other High Court judges.

The appointment of Gloster J, Macur J and Sharp J increases the number of female CoA justices to seven from four currently. They will join Lady Justices Arden, Hallett, Black and Rafferty on the CoA bench later this year.

The other new CoA judges are Mr Justices Briggs, Christopher Clarke, Floyd, Fulford, Ryder, Underhill and Vos.

The new CoA judges will replace Lord Justices Toulson and Hughes, who are joining the Supreme Court (26 February 2013), and the retiring Lord Chief Justice Lord Judge (21 November 2012), Lord Justice Rix (26 March 2013) and Lord Justices Ward, Pill, Thorpe, Mummery and Lloyd. Meanwhile Lord Justice Etherton was recently appointed as head of the Chancery division.

Appointments to the CoA are made by the Queen on the advice of the Prime Minister and Lord Chancellor following the recommendation of an independent selection panel chaired by Judge LCJ. Other panel members include the Master of the Rolls Lord Dyson, Judicial Appointments Commission chair Christopher Stephens, and lay commissioners Valerie Strachan and Stella Pantelides.

Gloster J has been tipped for the CoA for some time (19 June 2012). She was the first female judge appointed to the Commercial Court (13 April 2004) and last year heard the mammoth Berezovsky v Abramovich case, handing down judgment for Chelsea Football Club owner Roman Abramovich in the summer (31 August 2012).