Who’s Who Legal recognises real-estate lawyers from DLA Piper

Twenty-two DLA Piper real-estate lawyers from 13 offices around the world have been named in the International Who’s Who of Real Estate Lawyers 2013. The firm has also been recognised as the International Real Estate Law Firm of the Year by Who’s Who Legal for nine consecutive years.

In written commentary, Who’s Who Legal reported that ’16 listings in the US alone give DLA Piper unrivalled precedence in the world’s busiest and most sophisticated real-estate law marketplace’. DLA Piper said it also has more real-estate practitioners than any other firm on the 2013 list.

Joseph Philip Forte, partner in DLA Piper’s real-estate practice in New York, was named Lawyer of the Year for the fourth consecutive year. Who’s Who Legal noted that Forte is in a ‘league of his own when it comes to complex real-estate finance and is considered a “leading light” in the field’.

In addition, Forte, Stephen Cowan, vice-chair of the US real-estate practice and a partner in the San Francisco office, and Martin Polevoy, head of DLA Piper’s New York real-estate practice, were three of only 10 lawyers named to the Most Highly Regarded list.

In selecting Cowan, Who’s Who Legal noted he was ‘one of the most highly regarded practitioners in the research overall’. Polevoy was recognised for his ‘highly impressive’ work on major Manhattan-based developments on behalf of the New York Times Company and representation of General Motors on a major lease transaction.

Who’s Who Legal also cited Jay Epstien, US real-estate practice chair and global real-estate group co-head, for his transactional work in commercial and residential property projects throughout the US, which was described as ‘exemplary’ by peers.

DLA Piper lawyers recognised in International Who’s Who of Real Estate Lawyers 2013

  • Simon Cookson, London
  • Stephen Cowan, San Francisco
  • Francois De Montpellier, Brussels
  • Charles Edwards, Chicago
  • Jay Epstien, Washington, DC
  • David Glickstein, Chicago
  • Michael Hamilton, Los Angeles
  • Howard Kane Chicago
  • Jeffrey Keitelman, Washington DC
  • Frederick Klein, Washington DC
  • Les Koltai, Sydney
  • Andrew Levy, New York
  • Michael Meyer, Los Angeles
  • Portia Owen Morrison, Chicago
  • Theodore Novak, Chicago
  • Martin Polevoy, New York
  • John Rattigan Jr., Boston
  • Susheela Rivers, Hong Kong
  • Olaf Schmidt, Milan
  • Elliot Surkin, Boston
  • Philip Weller, Dallas
  • Oskar Winkler, Vienna