Mishcon de Reya was crowned Law Firm of the Year at The Lawyer Awards 2017, sponsored by Travelers, last night (27 June).

The firm took on the biggest constitutional case in a generation last year: Gina Miller’s Article 50 legal challenge. The case generated over 2,500 media reports mentioning Mishcon de Reya in 25 countries ranging from Puerto Rico to Pakistan.

In addition to the Article 50 legal challenge, significant cases in 2016/17 include the representation of Sainsbury’s Supermarkets Ltd, which were awarded £68m in a competition damages claim against MasterCard; advising a long-standing private investor client on the sale of 120 Holborn to Singaporean investor UOL Group for £229.6m; representing Hewlett Packard Enterprise in a fraud claim; and acting for Walid Giahmi in the high profile Society Generale case against the LIA, which comes to trial in May. The family department is also acting on behalf of Meera Thakkar in divorce and financial remedy proceedings.

This year’s judges were also impressed with the breadth of investment at the firm, which in the last 12 months launched Mishcon Discover – an in house e-discovery business; and announced revenues of £127.9m, with profit per senior equity partner (PEP) breaking £1m for the first time.

Meanwhile, while Blackstone Chambers’ Lord Pannick QC won Barrister of the Year after his masterful handling of the Article 50 challenge on behalf of claimant Gina Miller in the historic 11-justice Supreme Court case.

Dentons scooped up International Firm of the Year thanks to its much talked-about international expansion plan, which has seen it launch in Australia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Mexico, Guatemala, Peru and Panama in the last 12 months and implement a new strategy to boost cross-selling.

Hogan Lovells took the award for pro bono initiative of the year.

The ceremony, which was held at the Grosvenor House in London, was hosted by comedian Rob Brydon and attended by over a hundred managing partners, barristers and top in-house lawyers.

The winners, in full:

Barrister of the year: Lord Pannick QC, Blackstone Chambers

Best client service innovation:  RPC

Boutique firm of the year: Kemp Little

Chambers of the year: Blackstone Chambers

Competition team of the year: Bristows

Corporate team of the year: Macfarlanes

Energy team of the year: CMS

Finance team of the year: Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer

Funds team of the year: Linklaters

Infrastructure projects team of the year: Gowling WLG

In-house banking and financial services team of the year: CME Group

In-house commerce and industry team of the year: Premier Foods

In-house energy and resources team of the year: National Grid

In-house lawyer of the year: Prashant Naik General Counsel Legal, Compliance & Governance, Channel 4

In-house public sector regulatory team of the year: Client Earth

In-house retail team of the year: Marks and Spencer

In-house TMT team of the year: Skyscanner

International firm of the year: Dentons

IP team of the year: Herbert Smith Freehills

Law firm of the year: Mishcon de Reya