EU and Med to trade

An EU proposal for a free trade area between the EU and 12 Mediterranean countries by the year 2010, could lead to the free movement of lawyers between those countries, according to the Law Society's Brussels office. The non-EU countries are Algeria, Cyprus, Egypt, Jordon, Israel, the Lebanon, Malta, Morocco, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey and the Palestinian Authority.