The Lawyer Inquiry: Julian Chadwick

Julian Chadwick was born on 3 January 1957. He is the managing partner of Pennington's Newbury office.

What was your first job?

Greengrocer's assistant.

What was your first ever salary as a lawyer?

£6,000 on qualification.

What would you have done if you hadn't become a lawyer?

A priest.

Which law could you live without?

The law on making gifts with reservation of benefits resulting in a nil benefit for inheritance tax purposes.

What car do you drive?

A Subaru Legacy.

Who inspires you?

First, my dog Bouncer with his calm, unhurried approach to life. I think one always has to admire single-minded people who stand by what they believe in, no matter how unpopular it makes them. In history one can think of Hildebrand and Winston Churchill.

What's the best thing on TV?

One Foot in the Grave. As I get older I think I bear an even closer resemblance to Victor Meldrew.

Which movie do you wish you'd appeared in?

Gone With the Wind as being quite the most stupendous film ever made, although I have yet to see any similarity with any of the characters in the film.

What makes you seethe?

The fact that so many in society have to struggle day after day to survive.

What's your most often-worn piece of clothing?

My cloth cap, which I wear when walking my dog.

What is the worst piece of architecture?

The hangars at Greenham Common Airbase are pretty ugly, but so is Centrepoint. So much is a question of style – the new Severn Bridge is stunningly beautiful, particularly when compared to the old one.

What book(s) are you reading at the moment?

For lighthearted adventure I am rereading my Hornblower Omnibus. I am also ploughing through the new Life of Cranmer.

What is your all-time favourite record?

Mozart's Requiem.

What piece of advice would you give to anyone entering the profession now?

Think very clearly and decide on your reason for going into the profession. Unless an entrant is committed to the law as a profession, as opposed to using it as a means of obtaining a professional qualification and a safe job, I don't think he or she will have a very happy time.

Where would you most like to be right now?

In my family home in Wales.