The Lawyer Awards: the shortlist

Having sifted the hundreds of entries we received for this year’s The Lawyer Awards, we can now reveal the shortlist. With more entries than ever before, The Lawyer editorial team and our excellent judging panel had their work cut out whittling down each category. Hours of painstaking research has gone into compiling the shortlist, with our judges imparting the expert knowledge gained over years working in their fields. The standard of entries this year was exceptional – those making the shortlist are true market leaders. The winners will be revealed at a glittering ceremony at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel on Tuesday 26 June

Banking & Finance Team of the Year

Allen & Overy 
Berwin Leighton Paisner
Clifford Chance
Hogan Lovells
Ropes & Gray
Slaughter and May
Weil Gotshal & Manges

Competition/Regulatory Team of the Year
Allen & Overy
Ashurst/Baker & McKenzie/Burges Salmon/Hogan Lovells/
Norton Rose
Baker & McKenzie
Berwin Leighton Paisner
Bevan Brittan
Shearman & Sterling
Wragge & Co

Corporate Team of the Year (mid-cap)
Addleshaw Goddard
Berwin Leighton Paisner
Thomas Eggar
Travers Smith

Corporate Team of the Year (large)
Sponsored by AlixPartners

Allen & Overy
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld
Clifford Chance
Freshfields Bruckhaus
Shearman & Sterling

Employment Team of the Year
Sponsored by Stroz Friedberg

Allen & Overy
Faegre Baker Daniels
Leigh Day & Co
Mayer Brown
Russell Jones & Walker part of Slater & Gordon Lawyers
Wragge & Co

Infrastructure/Energy Team of the Year
Sponsored by Noble Legal

Chadbourne & Parke
DLA Piper
Mayer Brown
White & Case
Wragge & Co

Litigation Team of the Year
Sponsored by Ernst & Young

Bevan Brittan
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan
Reed Smith
SC Andrew
Simmons & Simmons
Stephenson Harwood

Real Estate Team of the Year
Sponsored by JTC Group

Bircham Dyson Bell
Clyde & Co
DLA Piper
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
K&L Gates 
Mishcon de Reya

TMT Team of the Year
Sponsored by Robert Walters

Baker & McKenzie
Berwin Leighton Paisner 
DLA Piper
Osborne Clarke
Powell Gilbert
Taylor Wessing

Private Client Team of the Year
Sponsored by TMF Group

Berwin Leighton Paisner
Boodle Hatfield
Farrer & Co
Harbottle & Lewis
Lawrence Graham
Maurice Turnor Gardner
Taylor Wessing

In-house Banking & Financial Services Team of the Year
Sponsored by Barclay Simpson

Friends Life
Lloyds Banking Group (corporate real estate legal team)
Oaktree Capital Management
Virgin Money

In-house Commerce & Industry Team of the Year
Sponsored by Pure Search

Imperial Tobacco
National Grid
Premier Foods
Spire Healthcare

In-house Lawyer of the Year
Jayne Burrell, Iceland Food
Gita Parihar, Friends of the Earth
Shauna Powell, Clyde Blowers Capital
Rachel Small, LV=
Elizabeth Stephen, Save the Children International
Daniel Toner, Spire Healthcare
Lesley Wan, Lloyds Banking Group

In-house Public Sector Team of the Year
Coventry University
Enfield Borough Council
Essex County Council
Financial Services Compensation Scheme
Kent County Council
Pension Protection Fund
Treasury Solicitor’s Department

Barrister of the Year
Sponsored by Harbour Litigation

Stuart Catchpole QC, Thirty Nine Essex Street
Charles Gibson QC, Henderson Chambers
Robert Jay QC, Thirty Nine Essex Street
Thomas Linden QC, Matrix Chambers
Ingrid Simler QC, Devereux
Richard Todd QC,1 Hare Court
Hugh Tomlinson QC, Matrix Chambers

Chambers of the Year
3 Verulam Buildings
XXIV Old Buildings
Thirty Nine Essex Street
Brick Court Chambers
Matrix Chambers
Old Square Chambers


Assistant Solicitor of the Year
Linzi Bull, Harbottle & Lewis
Mike Cain, Russell Jones & Walker part of Slater & Gordon Lawyers
Stephen Fox, Weil Gotshal & Manges
Kate Jackson, Anthony Collins
Anna Rodbourne, Addleshaw Goddard
James Tumbridge, Gowlings
Andrew Wingfield, SJ Berwin

International Law Firm of the Year
Sponsored by James Channer

Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
Edwards Wildman
King & Wood Mallesons
Latham & Watkins
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan
Sullivan & Cromwell
Weil Gotshal & Manges

Law Firm of the Year
Sponsored by Travelers

Clyde & Co
Mishcon de Reya
Taylor Wessing

Boutique Firm of the Year – London
Sponsored by Cavanagh Wealth Management, part of Close Brothers Asset Management

GQ Employment Law
Powell Gilbert
Robin Simon
SC Andrew
Taylor Hampton

Boutique Firm of the Year – Regional
Follett Stock
Hawkswell Kilvington
Land Law
Zyda Law

Offshore Law Firm of the Year
Sponsored by Taylor Root

Bedell Cristin
Conyers Dill & Pearman
Maples and Calder
Mourant Ozannes

Partner of the Year
Sponsored by Saunderson House

Tony Angel, DLA Piper
Anita Anthony, Desor & Co
Jocelyn Cockburn, Hodge Jones & Allen
Allen Hanen, Herbert Smith
Neil Kinsella, Russell Jones & Walker part of Slater & Gordon Lawyers
Mark Lewis, Taylor Hampton
Tim Taylor QC, SJ Berwin 

Regional Law Firm of the Year
Sponsored by Towry

Carson McDowell
Harper Macleod

Pro Bono Team of the Year
Sponsored by Michael Page

Clifford Chance
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Hogan Lovells
Kent Law Clinic
Northumbria Law School
Reed Smith
TrustLaw Connect

The judges

With so many excellent entries we needed a stellar cast of judges to help us come up with our shortlists and pick the winners.

This year’s judges are:
David Bate – Valiant Petroleum general counsel
Tim Bratton – Financial Times general counsel
Monica Carss-Frisk QC – Blackstone Chambers joint head of chambers
Peter Farthing – Macquarie managing director and head legal counsel for Emea
Alison Hampton – HgCapital general counsel and compliance officer
John Healey – Warburtons general counsel
Charlotte Heiss – RSA head of group legal
Sean Jones QC – 11KBW employment barrister
Dermot Maguire – Fujitsu Services project director and head of IP
Elaine Mays – Baker Hughes director, legal and compliance – Europe region
David Ridl – Commonwealth Bank of Australia general manager, legal services Europe
Simon Rose – United Biscuits head of corporate legal affairs and group property
Tim Ward QC – Monckton Chambers barrister