Solicitors have figured prominently in the New Year honours list.

A knighthood goes to Treasury Solicitor and Procurator-General Gerald Hosker. Sir Gerald heads a team of 200 lawyers working for government departments, and special litigation and property divisions.

Judge Robin David QC, resident judge at Chester Crown Court and a circuit judge since 1968, is also awarded a knighthood.

Law Society secretary-general John Hayes receives a CBE for his work in spearheading society reform since he took office in 1987.

“I am delighted he has received this honour; a tribute to his work for the Law Society, particularly the reorganisation he has carried out,” society President Charles Elly says.

Madeleine May, who retired as executive director of the International Bar Association at the end of last year after 15 years, receives a CBE.

“I am amazed and immensely proud to receive such a prestigious award for doing something that I have enjoyed so much,” she says.

Law Society Vice-President John Young says May has been associated with the IBA for nearly 30 years.

“Thanks to her, more than any other individual, the IBA has become the largest, most effective and influential organisation of its kind.”

Brian Cleave, solicitor of the Inland Revenue, becomes a Companion of the Order of the Bath.

Michael Malone-Lee, head of the Law and Policy Group at the Lord Chancellor's Department, also becomes a CBE. Grant Jones and Ebrahim Kotwal, administrators at the LCD, get OBEs.

Graham Jackson, chairman of the Central Council of Magistrates Courts Committee, and Melvyn Rodgers, Chairman of the Advisory Committee on JPs for the North-East, gained OBEs, together with magistrates Sydney Barber, John Bonomy and Brian Worster-Davis.

Among the MBEs are county court bailiff Basil Craddock, House of Lords principal doorkeeper J Emmerson and shorthand writer W Boyd.