In brief: Bedfordshire Magistrates Court Committee

Bedfordshire Magistrates Court Committee's proposal to close four local courts is to be reconsidered following an appeal by a member of Bedfordshire County Council. The decision taken on 15 December to consolidate Ampthill and Biggleswade magistrates courts with Bedford, and join Dunstable and Leighton Buzzard local courts with Luton, is now referred to the Lord Chancellors Department.