The Lawyer Inquiry: Esther FitzGibbons

Esther FitzGibbons was born in Salisbury in 1975. She is a trainee solicitor at Thomas Eggar Church Adams.

What subjects did you fail at school?

None I'm afraid.

What was your first job?

Working on the production line in an electronics factory.

What was your first ever salary as a lawyer?

£12,500 pa.

What would you have done if you hadn't been a lawyer?

English teacher or international show jumper!

What was your most satisfying professional moment?

Being involved in the creation of a small business service and one-stop shop for small companies providing commercial employment property accountancy and taxation advice.

What was your most embarrassing professional moment?

Glad to say I haven't had one yet but I'm sure my time will come!

What do you least like about being a lawyer?

Sometimes the worst thing about being a lawyer is having to deal with other lawyers, especially those with no common sense.

And the best thing about being a lawyer?

Being able to offer clients practical solutions to their problems and work through a situation to a successful outcome.

What annoys you most about clients?

Their failure to follow our advice or their failure to seek advice before they act.

Who do you most admire, and why?

My mother as she became a law graduate at 50 after a life of nursing. She is an inspiration to middle-aged mothers who want a career change.

Which famous person or historical figure would be your ideal client and why?

Possibly Walt Disney, simply because of the huge number of employees in the Disney corporation as well as the diversity of work. I think he must have had a sense of humour and I think he would have been fun to work with.

What is your most annoying habit?

I'm probably not the best person to ask but I would probably say it was talking too much.

What's your biggest fear?

Spiders and never being able to pay off my student debts.

How do you relax?

Good food, fine wine and the company of friends.

What is your most precious possession?

Probably my flat which I bought in the summer as it's my first very own house.

Where would you most like to be right now?

On a deserted hill top somewhere in Sussex, enjoying a long walk with my boyfriend.

In 10 years' time where do you see yourself?

I would like to be with TECA although hopefully higher up the ladder! I would also like to be married and a mother.

To take part in the Inquiry call Jemma Pearson on 0171 970 467