The Lawyer Inquiry: Helen Cannings

Helen Cannings was born in 1972 in Havering. She is currently working in Milan, Italy as a doctressa/paralegal.

What was your first job?

Temporary postman in Dagenham land of the snarling guard dog.

What was your first ever salary as a lawyer?

£100 per month, one day per week in London.

What would you have done if you hadn't become a lawyer?

Gone into advertising.

Which law could you live without?

Any piece of legislation regarding Italian Public Administration.

What was your most embarrassing professional moment?

Not knowing the precise translation of an English word. I Italianised it and, much to the amusement of those present at the meeting, I had managed to give it a whole new meaning.

What car do you drive?

Peugeot 306.

Which famous person would you like to go out with?

John Malkovich.

Where would you go to eat?

Anywhere in Sicily.

What's the best thing on TV?

There is nothing worth watching here in Italy. In fact, I no longer own a television.

Which movie do you wish you'd appeared in?

Nikita directed by Luc Besson.

What's your most often-worn piece of clothing?

My grey V-neck wool jumper.

What book(s) are you reading at the moment?

Milan Kundera's L'Insostenibile Leggerezza Dell' Essere and Paul Auster's Hand To Mouth.

What is your all-time favourite record?

Son of a Preacher Man by Dusty Springfield.

What piece of advice would you give to anyone entering the profession now?

Make sure you are physically fit and healthy if you wish to work in an international firm.

What do you like about yourself?

My ability to make those around me laugh.

What do you hate about yourself?

The way in which I complicate my life.

Where would you most like to be right now?

Surfing in the Bahamas.