Focus: The Lawyer Awards 2011 Shortlist: The runners and riders

The race is on for the industry’s most sought-after trophies at The Lawyer Awards 2011, highlighting star performers in a year of recovery. The ceremony will take place on Tuesday 21 June at Grosvenor House. And the contenders are…

Banking & Finance Team of the Year

Bingham McCutchen (London)
Clifford Chance: EFSF: An innovative way to achieve financial stability
Clifford Chance: Citigroup – acquisition and restructuring of EMI Music
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Kirkland & Ellis International
Latham & Watkins
Ropes & Gray

Competition/Regulatory Team of the Year

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Norton Rose
Shearman & Sterling
Sidley Austin
Wragge & Co

Corporate Team of the Year

Clifford Chance
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Herbert Smith
Hogan Lovells
Slaughter and May
Stephenson Harwood

Employment Team of the Year

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Lewis Silkin
Morgan Lewis & Bockius
Sacker & Partners
Wragge & Co

Infrastructure/Energy Team of the Year

Clifford Chance
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Shearman & Sterling
White & Case
Wragge & Co

Litigation Team of the Year

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Lawrence Graham
Slaughter and May
Stephenson Harwood
Travers Smith

Real Estate Team of the Year

Burges Salmon
K&L Gates
Mayer Brown
Travers Smith

TMT Team of the Year

Berwin Leighton Paisner
Bird & Bird
Harbottle & Lewis
Herbert Smith
Mills & Reeve
Simmons & Simmons

Middle East Team of the Year

Allen & Overy
Al Tamimi & Company
Asserson Law Offices
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
SJ Berwin
SNR Denton
Taylor Wessing

Private Client Team of the Year

Clarke Willmott
Farrer & Co
Maurice Turnor Gardner
Mishcon de Reya

Pro Bono Team of the Year

Baker & McKenzie
Bristol Institute of Legal Practice
Department of Law, Queen Mary University of London
Clifford Chance, Herbert Smith, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Hilary Meredith
Weil Gotshal & Manges

In-house Banking & Financial Services Team of the Year

Capital One (Europe)
Deutsche Bank
Man Group
Nationwide Building Society
Standard Chartered Bank
The Royal Bank of Scotland Group

In-house Commerce & Industry Team of the Year

British Airways
Porterbrook Leasing Company
Premier Foods
Royal Dutch Shell
The Football Association
United Utilities Group

In-house Lawyer of the Year

Robert Graham, Franklin Templeton Investments
Jacqueline Hill, Gazprom Marketing & Trading
Liz Kelly, Nationwide
Charlotte Taggart, Lockton Companies
Peter Tyson, Standard Life
Geoffrey Wild, Kent County Council
Claire Wilkinson, MVision

In-house Public Sector Team of the Year

Glasgow Housing Association
Harrow Council
Legal Services Lincolnshire
Kent Legal Services/London Borough of Waltham Forest
London Development Agency
Pension Protection Fund

In-house TMT Team of the Year

Everything Everywhere (Orange/T-Mobile)
Pace Legal

Assistant Solicitor of the Year

Jonathan Brook, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Mark Church, Reed Smith
Laura Kearsley, Weightmans
Richard Neylon, Holman Fenwick Willan
Angeline Welsh, Allen & Overy
Chloe Wright, Harbottle & Lewis
Audrius Zakarauskas, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan UK

Barrister of the Year

Bruce Carr QC, Devereux Chambers
Stuart Catchpole QC, 39 Essex Street
John Hendy QC, Old Square Chambers
Helen Mountfield QC, Matrix Chambers
Jonathan Sumption QC, Brick Court Chambers
Richard Todd QC, 1 Hare Court
Hugh Tomlinson QC, Matrix Chambers

Chambers of the Year

Blackstone Chambers
Brick Court Chambers
Maitland Chambers
Matrix Chambers
Monckton Chambers
3 Verulam Buildings
Wilberforce Chambers

Partner of the Year

Elaine Chapman, Weightmans
Tim Eyles, Taylor Wessing
Kevin Jaquiss, Cobbetts
Paula Nash, Lanyon Bowdler
Mark Rawlinson, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Gary Senior, Baker & McKenzie
Charlotte Stalin, Simmons & Simmons

Law Firm of the Year

Baker & McKenzie
Bond Pearce
Norton Rose
Pinsent Masons
Stephenson Harwood
Taylor Wessing
Travers Smith

Offshore Law Firm of the Year

Carey Olsen
Conyers Dill & Pearman
Mourant Ozannes

Regional/National Law Firm of the Year

Boyes Turner
Harper Macleod
Higgs & Sons
Stevens & Bolton

International Law Firm of the Year

Debevoise & Plimpton
Gianni Origoni Grippo & Partners
Gleiss Lutz
Latham & Watkins
Sullivan & Cromwell
Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan UK

Niche Firm of the Year

Carter Perry Bailey
Hawkswell Kilvington
Marks & Clerk Solicitors
Peters & Peters Solicitors
Poppleston Allen
Sacker & Partners