The Lawyer Inquiry: Hugh Ellins

Hugh Ellins was born in Shoreham-on-Sea on 23 October 1945. He now lives in Newbury and is a partner and head of commercial property at Charles Lucas & Marshall.

What was your first job?

Greengrocer's delivery boy.

What was your first-ever salary as a lawyer?

£5 per week.

What would you have done if you hadn't become a lawyer?

Joined the Fleet Air Arm.

Which law could you live without?

No particular law, but all those laws which the government uses to hide cuts in social spending by claiming that it is making the system more equitable.

What was your most embarrassing professional moment?

Being at a business lunch and extolling the virtues and benefits of using my firm, then being told by one of the other guests at the table that she had withdrawn her instructions that morning because of dissatisfaction.

What car do you drive?

An increasingly old Citroen. I dream of an Aston Martin DB6.

Which famous person would you like to go out with?

Sophia Loren.

Where would you go to eat?

A small discreet restaurant in Brittany and eat fruits de mer with a lot of oysters.

What's the best thing on TV?

Rugby Union, particularly when England are playing.

Which movie do you wish you'd appeared in?

Any movie with Sophia Loren.

What's your most often-worn piece of clothing?

Large sweaters. Currently the one bought for me by my daughter at Christmas.

What book(s) are you reading at the moment?

The State We're In by Will Hutton, Who Goes Home by Roy Hattersley, The Famished Road by Ben Okri and The Copper Peacock by Ruth Rendell.

What is your all-time favourite record?

Depending on mood, Satisfaction by the Stones, Every Time We Say Goodbye by Ella Fitzgerald and Miserere by Allegi.

What piece of advice would you give to anyone entering the profession now?

You're a businessman first and a lawyer second.

What do you like about yourself?

I am debonair, quick-witted and well-read.

What do you hate about yourself?

I lie to myself.

Where would you most like to be right now?

Paris with my wife.