The Lawyer Inquiry: Hilary Nicholls

Hilary Nicholls was born in Plymouth on 13 April 1953. She now lives in Manchester and is partner-designate at Davies Wallis Foyster.

What was your first job?

Serving chips in a chip shop.

What was your first ever salary as a lawyer?

£2,000pa as a trainee.

What would you have done if you hadn't become a lawyer?

Recording engineer.

Which law could you live without?

The Second Law of Thermodynamics.

What was your most embarrassing professional moment?

Too many to count.

What car do you drive?

Rover 620 in British racing green.

Which famous person would you like to go out with?

GF Handel.

Where would you go to eat?

Ranelagh Gardens.

What's the best thing on TV?

The off switch.

Which movie do you wish you'd appeared in?


What's your most often-worn piece of clothing?


What book(s) are you reading at the moment?

The French Revolution by Simon Chama

What is your all-time favourite record?

Too many to count.

What piece of advice would you give to anyone entering the profession now?

Not to forget that if the price of bread goes too high the people will eat cake instead.

What do you like about yourself?

The fact that I have a great family.

What do you hate about yourself?

Just can't think.

Where would you most like to be right now?

With my family.

We apologise to Costas Andrea who featured in last week's Inquiry. Unfortunately, the photograph we published was of his assistant, Demetrius Danas, and not Andrea himself.