In-housers shine at The Lawyer Awards

It was the biggest event for the legal profession, bar none. On Tuesday 27 June, in-house teams and lawyers from across the globe featured heavily at the annual The Lawyer Awards.

Some 1,500 of the legal industry’s best and brightest were on hand in the Great Room at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel to applaud the winners and celebrate the industry, not to mention dance the night away and be entertained by host Rory Bremner. As always, in-house teams featured prominently.

Merlie Calvert of De Beers was named In-house Lawyer of the Year for her work with the diamond company that has helped create legal regulatory history. Victoria Cochrane of Ernst & Young was second, praised for her work on defence of litigation brought by Equitable Life. Michael Gradon of P&O was placed third for his role in the takeover of P&O by DP World. Shortlisted were Neil Hodges of Barclays Bank, Robert MacKenzie of ntl and Deepak Malhotra of InBev.

T-Mobile UK was named In-house TMT Team of the Year, ahead of Expedia and 3. Shortlisted teams included BT’s 21st Century Network, Intel, Research in Motion and Reuters.

Philips won European In-house Team of the Year for innovation in its IP and standards team. Placings went to Gate Gourmet and BASF, while Commerzbank, EDF and Nokia were shortlisted.

Royal Bank of Scotland’s in-house team, led by general counsel Miller McLean and deputy general counsel Chris Campbell, won the In-house Banking & Financial Services Team of the Year Award. Riverstone Management and ABN Amro were commended, with Collins Stewart Tullet, Co-Operative Financial Services and ING Bank all shortlisted.

BOC Group won the In-house Commerce & Industry Team of the Year category, ahead of Carphone Warehouse and Boots. Shortlisted teams were Britvic, London Stock Exchange and Partygaming.