The Supreme Court has this morning by a majority of eight to three dismissed the Secretary of State’s appeal over whether Article 50 can be lawfully triggered without a vote by Parliament.

The decision upholds a High Court ruling handed down in November in which the claimant Gina Miller, represented by Mishcon de Reya, alongside a number of other claimant groups, won her challenge to Government plans to trigger Article 50.

This morning’s ruling means Government must seek as Act of Parliament before it can move ahead with plans to take Britain out of the EU.

Successful claimants were represented by Mishcon de Reya and Edwin Coe. Leading the charge was Blackstone Chambers’ Lord Pannick QC as well as Maitland Chambers’ Dominic Chambers QC and Matrix Chambers’ Jessica Simor QC, Helen Mountfield QC and Rhodri Thompson QC.

Representing the UK Government, the Attorney General instructed Blackstone’s James Eadie QC and 11KBW’s Jason Coppel QC.

The legal line-up

For the first claimant, Gina Miller

Blackstone Chambers’ Lord Pannick QC and Tom Hickman, Matrix Chambers’ Rhodri Thompson QC, and Monckon Chambers’ Anneli Howard, instructed by Mishcon de Reya partners Rob Murray and Kasra Nouroozi

For the second claimant, Deir Tozetti Dos Santos

Maitland Chambers’ Dominic Chambers QC and Benjamin John, and Matrix Chambers’ Jessica Simor QC, instructed by Edwin Coe

For the defendant, the Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union

Blackstone Chambers’ James Eadie QC, and 11KBW’s Jason Coppel QC, Tom Cross and Christopher Knight, instructed by the Attorney General

For the first interested party, the People’s Challenge

Matrix Chambers’ Helen Mountfield QC, Monckton Chambers’ Gerry Facenna QC and Jack Williams, and Brick Court Chambers’ Tim Johnson, instructed by Bindmans partner John Halford

For the second interested party, AB, KK, PR and Children

No 5 Chambers’ Manjit Gill QC and Ramby de Mello, and 43 Temple Row Chambers’ Tony Muman

For the interveners, George Birnie and ors

Henderson Chambers’ Patrick Green QC, Henry Warwick, Paul Skinner and Matthieu Gregoire