DLA names EMEA practice heads

DLA Piper has finalised the second phase of its European management overhaul, naming Europe, the Middle East and Africa (EMEA) practice group heads and restructuring several practice groups.

The second phase has thrown up few surprises, with the only major change coming with Austria and Central and Eastern Europe (CEE) regional managing partner Stefan Eder being named as EMEA head of finance & projects practice.

As revealed in The Lawyer (2 October), DLA Piper has restructured its commercial and projects practice, splitting the project finance and PPP/PFI elements into the new finance & projects practice. The commercial element has been merged into the new technology, media and commercial practice.

Vienna-based commercial partner Ivo Deskovic replaces Eder as Austria and CEE regional managing partner.

The firm has also renamed several practice groups, such as renaming banking supervision and regulation to restructuring and HR to employment, pensions and benefits.

The EMEA practice group heads have been named as follows: corporate (Alastair Da Costa); employment, pensions and benefits (David Bradley);
finance & projects (Stefan Eder); litigation and arbitration (Julian Stait); real estate (David Taylor); regulatory (Neil Gerrard); restructuring (Simon Neilson-Clark); technology, media and commercial (Simon Levine).

The regional managing partners have been named as follows: Belgium (Yves Tavernier); Austria & CEE (Ivo Deskovic); CIS (Constantine Lusignan-Rizhinashvili); Germany (Ulrich Juengst); Italy (Federico Sutti);
Middle East (David Church); Netherlands (Frans Stibbe); Norway (Espen Moe); Spain (Juan Picón); UK, London (Catherine Usher); UK, Regional (Paul Firth).

The group heads and regional managing partners will report to Andrew Darwin, who has been named to the role of European managing director.

The next stage of the management overhaul is expected to announce EMEA sector heads, who will have a customer-facing strategic rainmaking role within their respective sectors.

All changes become effective from 1 January, 2007.