Cobbetts dumped as DTI rejigs insolvency roster

The Department of Trade & Industry has axed Cobbetts from its panel for the Insolvency Service for England and Wales in favour of a selection of regional rivals.

The new panel comprises ASB Law, Dickinson Dees, Howes Percival, Osborne Clarke and Wragge & Co, while Cobbetts and Birmingham firm Brindley Twist Tafft & James have been jettisoned.

The five firms retained their places on the panel despite competition from more than 50 firms that tendered.

They will advise on, and carry out proceedings against, former directors of failed companies for a further three years.

ASB will advise on cases in the South East, excluding London; Dickinsons will advise in the North; Howes Percival will cover East Anglia and share the London region with Osborne Clark, which also covers the South West; while Wragges will cover the Midlands and Wales.