DLA scooped Law Firm of the Year at Birmingham Law Society's second annual awards, which took place on 6 March at the city's International Convention Centre

Other winners included Wragge & Co's long-serving senior partner John Crabtree, who received a special Lifetime Achievement Award.

The sell-out event was compered by John Pratt, former managing partner of Pinsent Curtis Biddle and current president of Birmingham and Solihull Chamber of Commerce.

The winners:
Lifetime Achievement: John Crabtree, senior partner at Wragge & Co since 1993.
Law Firm of the Year (20-plus partners): DLA.
Law Firm of the Year (fewer than 20 partners): Anthony Collins Solicitors.
Solicitor of the Year: Beachcroft Wansbroughs' Birmingham head of litigation Lorraine Carolan.
Assistant Solicitor of the Year: Carole Maddock, Irwin Mitchell.
Trainee of the Year: Steve Wetton, Beachcroft Wansbroughs.
Barrister of the Year: John Brennan, Citadel Chambers.
Sole Practitioner of the Year: Boris Kremer, the Compensation Shop.
Legal Executive of the Year: Keith Astbury, Glaisyers.
Pro Bono Award: Judy Dyke, Tyndallwoods.