Serle Court

Bar top 30 position: 17

  • Overview

With commercial, chancery and litigation as its core disciplines, Serle Court boasts 55 barristers, 20 of whom are silks. Alan Boyle QC is the head of chambers, Nicola Sawford is the chief executive and the head clerk is Steve Whitaker.

Serle Court was traditionally an established chancery chambers but merged with leading commercial set One Hare Court in 2000 and now covers the full range of commercial law.

Head of chambers, Alan Boyle QC, is the leading barrister in the set’s commercial chancery practice and highly regarded by his contemporaries at the Bar. Elizabeth Jones QC and Patrick Talbot QC also have strong practices in commercial chancery litigation.

Serle Court boasts a leading fraud practice with Philip Marshall QC, who specialises in international commercial fraud, and Kuldip Singh QC well regarded. Justin Higgo is a notable junior in the fraud practice while Daniel Lightman is attracting attention with a well-established practice in commercial and company law.

Serle Court saw two of its leading juniors take silk in 2013. David Blayney QC and Jonathan Adkin QC were both recognised after building strong practices in commercial chancery.


6 New Square
Lincoln's Inn

Silks: 20
Juniors: 35
Head of chambers: Alan Boyle QC
Chief executive: Nicola Sawford
Senior clerk: Steve Whitaker