Sponsored by:


WINNER: Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners

Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners becomes the first Russian firm to take home the European Law Firm of the Year award after winning two categories and being shortlisted in a further two. The firm's strength, and the influence of its charismatic chairman Dimitry Afanasiev, cannot be underestimated and really stood out for judges.

In one of the most competitive markets in Europe Egorov Puginsky has managed to establish itself as not only one of the most consistently powerful independent locals, but able to compete with the many international firms present in Moscow. As well as winning work on major deals, the firm continues to work to influence the development of law in Russia and beyond. Its 2011 merger with CIS firm Magisters also gave it serious weight across the wider region.

For all these reasons, Egorov Puginsky is a worthy winner of the overall prize this year.