The safety net: best-practice guide — Australia

The safety net consists of the 10 National Employment Standards (NESs) and modern awards and sets the minimum terms and conditions of employment for all employees in the federal system. Set out in this briefing is a snapshot of particular elements of each NES entitlement.

An employer must comply with the NES in relation to each of its employees.

Any attempt to exclude the NES or provide less favourable entitlements will not be effective as the NES entitlement will simply prevail. Such an attempt may also put the employer at risk of breaching the NES, which may result in court proceedings, the imposition of a penalty and/or an order to make good any shortfall…

If you are registered and logged in to the site, click on the link below to read the rest of the DLA Piper briefing. If not, please register or sign in with your details below.

Briefings from DLA Piper

View more briefings from DLA Piper

Analysis from The Lawyer

View more analysis from The Lawyer


3 Noble Street

Turnover (£m): 1,539.00
No. of lawyers: 4,374(UK 200)
Jurisdiction: Global
No. of offices: Over 75
No. of qualified lawyers: 625 (International 50)