Kazakhstan introduces visa-free regime for citizens of 10 countries from 15 July

Pursuant to Decree No 639 of the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated 11 June 2014, the Republic of Kazakhstan has unilaterally introduced a visa-free regime for the period from 15 July 2014 to 15 July 2015 for the citizens of 10 countries: the US, the UK including Northern Ireland, Germany, the Republic of France, Italy, Malaysia, the Netherlands, the United Arab Emirates, Korea and Japan. The duration of stay of foreign citizens in the Republic of Kazakhstan under the visa-free regime should not exceed 15 calendar days from the time they cross the state border.

If it becomes necessary for a foreign national to stay in Kazakhstan for more than 15 calendar days, such foreign national will need to apply to the internal affairs authorities of the Republic of Kazakhstan and obtain a ‘business’ category single-entry visa for a period of up to 30 calendar days.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan will also issue ‘investor’ category single-entry visas for up to 90 calendar days and multiple-entry visas for up to three years upon an application of Kazakhstan’s authorised investment body confirming the investor status of citizens of the above-mentioned 10 states…

Click on the link below to read the rest of the Dentons briefing.

Sign in or Register to continue reading this article

Sign in


It's quick, easy and free!

It takes just 5 minutes to register. Answer a few simple questions and once completed you’ll have instant access.

Register now

Why register to The Lawyer


Industry insight

In-depth, expert analysis into the stories behind the headlines from our leading team of journalists.


Market intelligence

Identify the major players and business opportunities within a particular region through our series of free, special reports.


Email newsletters

Receive your pick of The Lawyer's daily and weekly email newsletters, tailored by practice area, region and job function.

More relevant to you

To continue providing the best analysis, insight and news across the legal market we are collecting some information about who you are, what you do and where you work to improve The Lawyer and make it more relevant to you.

Analysis from The Lawyer

View more analysis from The Lawyer


1 Fleet Place

Qualified lawyers: 51
Partners: 12
Offices: 4

(International Top 50)