Insurance sector update: the ASEAN economic community

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established on 8 August 1967 under the framework of the ‘three pillars’ of regional co-operation: security, socio-cultural integration and economic integration.

At the 12th ASEAN summit in January 2007, the ASEAN leaders affirmed their strong commitment to accelerate the establishment of an ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) to create a legal regime that will unify ASEAN into a single market and economy. On 20 November 2007, the ASEAN leaders adopted the ASEAN Economic Blueprint to serve as a coherent master plan in guiding the implementation of the AEC by 31 December 2015.

The AEC seeks to substantially liberalise trade and services among the 10 ASEAN member countries by working towards the following key goals, the so-called ‘four pillars’ of the AEC…

Click on the link below to read the rest of the DLA Piper briefing.

Sign in or Register to continue reading this article

Sign in


It's quick, easy and free!

It takes just 5 minutes to register. Answer a few simple questions and once completed you’ll have instant access.

Register now

Why register to The Lawyer


Industry insight

In-depth, expert analysis into the stories behind the headlines from our leading team of journalists.


Market intelligence

Identify the major players and business opportunities within a particular region through our series of free, special reports.


Email newsletters

Receive your pick of The Lawyer's daily and weekly email newsletters, tailored by practice area, region and job function.

More relevant to you

To continue providing the best analysis, insight and news across the legal market we are collecting some information about who you are, what you do and where you work to improve The Lawyer and make it more relevant to you.

Briefings from DLA Piper

View more briefings from DLA Piper

Analysis from The Lawyer

View more analysis from The Lawyer


3 Noble Street

Turnover (£m): 1,566.29
No. of lawyers: 3,961 (UK 200)
Jurisdiction: global
No. of offices: more than 75
No. of qualified lawyers: 542 (International 50)
No. of partners: 142.6