Caste discrimination — the 10th protected characteristic?

There are currently nine protected characteristics: sex, gender reassignment, being married or in a civil partnership, being pregnant or on maternity leave, race, disability, sexual orientation, religion or belief and age.

The definition of ‘race’ is non-exhaustive. The Equality Act 2010 states that race ‘includes… colour, nationality, ethnic or national origin’. It is therefore possible to argue that factors other than colour, nationality, ethnic origin and national origin are also covered by the legislation if they fall within the umbrella of ‘race’. However, the provisions of the act relating to race do not expressly prohibit discrimination against a person because of their caste.

Change is now looming and we are set to see the introduction of a 10th protected characteristic (that of caste) in 2015…

Click on the link below to read the rest of the Gateley briefing.

Sign in or Register to continue reading this article

Sign in


It's quick, easy and free!

It takes just 5 minutes to register. Answer a few simple questions and once completed you’ll have instant access.

Register now

Why register to The Lawyer


Industry insight

In-depth, expert analysis into the stories behind the headlines from our leading team of journalists.


Market intelligence

Identify the major players and business opportunities within a particular region through our series of free, special reports.


Email newsletters

Receive your pick of The Lawyer's daily and weekly email newsletters, tailored by practice area, region and job function.

More relevant to you

To continue providing the best analysis, insight and news across the legal market we are collecting some information about who you are, what you do and where you work to improve The Lawyer and make it more relevant to you.

Briefings from Gateley

  • Share buybacks: a trap for the unwary

    Although a buyback can be fairly easy to effect, if the strict legal requirements are not followed you may find that the buyback did not take place at all.

  • The trouble with trading names in construction

    After negotiations signing a contract should be easy, but sometimes the simplest things – like inserting the name of the company you are contracting with – can be problematic. 

View more briefings from Gateley

Analysis from The Lawyer


111 Edmund Street
B3 2HJ

Turnover (£m): 71.70
No. of lawyers: 406