Care Act 2014

The Care Act 2014, which received royal assent on 14 May 2014, will impose new obligations on local authorities in respect of the provision of social care.

The Care Act 2014 contains five parts and eight schedules. Part 1 is about care and support. Its sets out a framework for the provision of adult social care in England. Part 2 is about care standards. It reflects the government’s response to the report of the Mid-Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust Public Inquiry. Part 3 is about health. It establishes Health Education England (HEE) and the Health Research Authority (HRA) as non-departmental public bodies. Part 4 is about health and social care. It establishes a fund, the Better Care Fund, for the integration of care and support with health services. Part 5 is a general part, dealing with various technical matters.

The act is said to apply to England and Wales but in practice many of the provisions in Parts 1 and 2 apply in England only. The National Assembly for Wales has passed the Social Services and Well-Being (Wales) Act 2014, relating to social care in Wales. Provisions relating to cross-border placements, some provisions on provider failure and the provision relating to the application of the Human Rights Act 1998 also apply to Wales. In Part 3, the majority of provisions relating to Health Education England and the provisions relating to the Health Research Authority apply to Wales as well as England…

Click on the link below to read the rest of the Eversheds briefing.

Briefings from Eversheds

View more briefings from Eversheds

Analysis from The Lawyer

View more analysis from The Lawyer


1 Wood Street

Turnover (£m): 376.00
No. of lawyers: 1,264
Jurisdiction: UK
No. of offices: 4
No. of qualified lawyers (international): 54


View all jobs from this firm